Carpenters in Action

Pacific Northwest Carpenters In Action

By building a cross-trade network of UBC members all working shoulder to shoulder, we will gain market share, advocate for Carpenter issues, and defend against attacks on our Union. Carpenters in Action (CIA) is a growing group of Carpenters committed to their communities, job sites, and brothers and sisters.

Carpenters in Action is evolving based on the needs, and issues important to Carpenters in their communities. You can be a part of the Local’s CIA and engage leaders, organizations, businesses, and other workers by fighting together.

Local 70’s Carpenters In Action meeting takes place on the 3rd Tuesday of the month, at 5:30 PM, one hour prior to the Regular membership monthly meeting. We meet at the Local in Burlington and we also have satellite meetings in Everett and Ferndale. Below are the locations and addresses:

Burlington’s CIA - 1387 Pacific Drive, Burlington, WA 98233

Everett’s CIA - 2810 Lombard Ave, Everett, WA 98201

Ferndale’s CIA - 5715 Barrett Rd, Ferndale, WA 98248

The Local’s Regular Membership Meeting will follow at 6:30 pm in each of the three listed locations.

 If you would like to be involved in the Local’s Carpenters In Action please email Miguel Perry at mperry@nwcarpenters.org.  Please provide him with the following info:

Name:
Address:
Cell #:
Email:

Carpenters In Action Organizing Actions:

Leadership Training:

  • Prepare members for knocking on doors, making calls, and taking action.
  • Help build member involvement in our Local and throughout our Regional Council.

Legislative/Community Action:

  • Advocating for union construction projects, pro-union legislation, or against legislative attacks on our union.
  • Building a positive public perception of the Union through volunteerism. Community / Member builds ex: ramps.

Area Standards/Organizing Activities:

  • Upholding union wage standards through public information campaigns: Picketing, Bannering, Hand-billing.
  • Recruitment of carpenters, salting, house calls, or anything that ensures the non-union carpenter receives a fair day’s wage for a fair day’s work.

 

I would like to be involved with my Local’s CIA in (Check one or several options)

Leadership Training:

Legislative/Community Action:

Area Standards/Organizing Activities:

 


 

 

Hello Representative _______________

 

My name is __________________ and I am a refinery worker in the North Puget Sound.

 

We are hopeful of getting HB 1776 to fix the prevailing wage for workers in high-hazard facilities to the floor for a vote today. There are hundreds of us who work in these facilities as scaffold erectors, millwrights, boilermakers, and insulators.
When WA Legislators passed the high hazard skilled and trained workforce bill from a couple of years ago, it was to make those facilities safer by requiring that we go through a state-certified training program to ensure that we are the safest possible workers in those facilities.

 

Public or private, those facilities can pose a potential threat to the surrounding communities and environment if workers in those facilities make a mistake. Requiring a skilled and trained workforce helps to better prevent any of those issues from arising, and legislators set a bar for the level of skilled and trained professionals that we want on those facilities to ensure maximum safety.

 

By allowing some of those facilities to only pay their workers 75% of the prevailing wage, is driving down the compensation for those skilled and trained workers throughout the industry and creating unfair competition between facilities that are paying the proper area standard (full prevailing wage) and those that are not.

 

When you drive down the pay for workers it forces facilities to adjust their operations to compete, the intent of all of this was to make these facilities safer for the public and the environment, but when wages are forced lower and lower to compete in the industry you can expect a drop in the quality of the work to soon follow.
If we are going to establish a minimum requirement for skilled and trained workers across an entire industry, we need to maintain a minimum pay that also spans across the industry and not pick and choose who pays their workers a fair family wage that reflects the area standards, and who gets to only pay 75%.
Thank you for your consideration,

 

 

 

 

Targeted legislators:

 

Alex Ramel - alex.ramel@leg.wa.gov

Alicia Rule - Alicia.Rule@leg.wa.gov

Dave Paul - dave.paul@leg.wa.gov

Debra Lekanoff - debra.lekanoff@leg.wa.gov

Sharon Shewmake - sharon.shewmake@leg.wa.gov

Davina Duerr - davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov

Roger Goodman - roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov

Laurie Jinkins - laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Marcus Riccelli - marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov

Nicole Macri - nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov

Strom Peterson - strom.peterson@leg.wa.gov

Liz Berry - Liz.Berry@leg.wa.gov

Dan Bronoske - Dan.Bronoske@leg.wa.gov

Joe Fitzgibbon - joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Shelley Kloba - shelley.kloba@leg.wa.gov

Timm Ormsby - timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

Mike Sells - mike.sells@leg.wa.gov

Monica Jurado Stonier - monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov